Early Childhood Education (ECE)

This guide introduces you to some sources of information in Early Childhood Education available in the College. All materials can be searched in our Koha Library Catalogue (http://koha.yccece.edu.hk).

Subject Keywords

The following subject headings may be used to locate materials about this subject when searching in the Library Catalogue. 

Ability in children Early childhood education Object teaching
Child care Early childhood teachers Parenting
Child development Education - Government policy Perception in children
Child health service Educational psychology Play - Psychological aspects
Child mental health service Educational sociology Play - Social aspects
Child psychology Educational preschool Play groups
Child rearing Inclusive education Preschool education
Child study Kindergarten Preschool teaching
Children's literature Kindergarten teachers Preschool tests


Useful Call Numbers to Find Library Materials

Subject Area

Library of Congress Subclass (LC)

Child psychology

BF 712 – 723

Child development

HQ 767.8 – 792.2

Theory and practice of education

LB 5 - 3640

Teaching (Principles and practice)

LB 1025 – 1050.7

Educational psychology

LB 1050.9 – 1091

Child study

LB 1101 – 1139

Early childhood education

LB 1139.2 – 1139.5

Preschool education

LB 1140

Kindergarten education

LB 1141 – 1499

Education and training of teachers

LB 1705 - 2286

Early childhood teachers

LB 1733 – 1775.5

School administration and organization

LB 2801 – 3095

Education sociology

LC 189 – 214.53

Education and native language

LC 201.5 – 201.7

Exceptional children and youth, Special education

LC 3950 – 4806.5

Social aspects of education

LC 65 - 245

School music (Kindergarten)

MT 920 – 925

Juvenile literature

PN 1008.2 – 1009.5

Reference Works

These materials will assist you in finding background information, key concepts, terms and bibliographies and their call numbers with prefix {REF} in the Reference Collection.


LC Call Number

Encyclopedia of educational psychology

LB 1050.9 .E63 2008 v.1 – v.2

Encyclopedia of Leadership

HD 57.7 .E53 2004 v.1 – v.4

Handbook of early childhood special education

LC 4801 R35 2016

Handbook of special education

LC 3965 .H26 2017

International handbook of early childhood education

LB 1180 .H613 2017

The new Encyclopedia Britannica

AE 5 .E363 2010 v.1 – v.29

Pocket guide to APA style

BF 76.7 .P426 2015

Resource guide for Waldorf teachers: Kindergarten - grade 8

LB 1029 .W34 M58 2005

The SAGE encyclopedia of contemporary early childhood education

LB 1139.23 .S245 2016 v.1 – v.3

The SAGE handbook of early childhood literacy

LB 1139 .L3 S344 2013

The SAGE handbook of play and learning in early childhood

LB 1140.35 .P55 S24 2014

Sociology of education: An A-to-Z guide

LC 191 .S63 2013 v.1 – v.2


Online Resources